How about a #NoMakeUpSelfie for #CancerPREVENTION??

Over the last 48 hour hours my Facebook news feed has been flooded with friends and family posting their Selfies, sans Make-up, for cancer research. It seems the whole country is on board. So far over €200,000 has been raised, and that’s an impressive sum when you consider the average donation is only €4!

It got me thinking though; what if €200,000 was invested in cancer prevention? Instead of closing the metaphorical stable door after the horse has bolted, and being constantly  one step behind, why don’t we concentrate on being healthier? Research put forth in one of my lectures this week by Dr Joel Fuhrman, suggests that simply including green vegetables, mushrooms, onions and green tea in the diet, has the combined effect of lowering cancer risk by well over 50%! How many of us actually know this, and why exactly is this information not widely available in mainstream media?  You can read more about Dr. Joel’s work here and I highly recommend that you do.

To date, billions have been invested in cancer research, but yet ,cancer rates continue to grow year on year. It seems to me that it is high time we started to invest in cancer PREVENTION, and that we put at least part of the money towards education and food policy change. We need to start being Proactive instead of Reactive.

I’m all for cancer research. I am eternally grateful for those who have made it their life’s work to find a cure for this terrible disease, that has affected so many families, including my own.  Ask any cancer patient and I’m sure they would tell you that they would have done anything possible to avoid it, had they all the information. And so it is, that I want to fly the flag for cancer PREVENTION.

I have been nominated to take part in the social media craze, but as of yet have not done so. I want us all to start thinking differently about our health and the diseases that affect us. Let us not only think about cancer research, but also about cancer prevention. Equal importance needs to be placed on both these life saving strategies.

So here it is, my take on the   #NoMakeUPSelfie, but this one is for #CancerPREVENTION

20140321_093809

2 thoughts on “How about a #NoMakeUpSelfie for #CancerPREVENTION??

  1. Brilliant post BJ! You are SO right. We are more educated than ever on different foods and how they affect the body but still there’s a barrier between knowing the facts and having people apply them. I’d love to see more done in schools and hospitals that teach people how to lower their risk without the need to actually getting to the point where you have cancer or diabetes or heart disease. It all boils down to education for me.

    Like

    • Thanks Rachael 🙂 I feel that getting this message out if a huge part of our health coaching careers. I was so inspired by Dr Joels lecture this week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

