I left my heart in Lisbon….

As you may or may not know, I ran off to Lisbon for the summer! I had fully intended to blog my way through the trip, but I quickly discovered that would defeat the purpose. In an act of radical self-care, I decided to give myself the space to just BE….and it was wonderful. Following, is the one and only post I wrote while in Lisbon, and I hope it gives you a sense of where I was at & where I hope to go!

PrincipeRealParkLisbon

 

Praca do Principe Real, Lisboa, August 2nd 2014

I began my Institute for Integrative Nutrition journey in february 2014, and although I honestly feel it’s the best decision I’ve made in a very long time, I couldn’t help but feel that something was missing. As a quote I read recently said “My soul yearns for something I can not name”. IIN’s Health Coaching program is all about self-awareness & self-care & so I could not help but notice that there was an area of discontent inside me.

Against all odds, I took a leap of faith, pushed myself outside of my comfort zone, & packed My Little Love & I off to beautiful Lisboa. As I write this now, I’m sitting in the shady Principe Real park & I feel a peacefulness I haven’t felt in a while. I crave brightness & warmth & this place has those in abundance. Having lived in Lisbon over 10 years ago, I’ve often felt that I have unfinished business here & it’s almost as if the city has called me back.

Health Coaches are not perfect people. They do not have all the answers, & they certainly have issues of their own. Of course I can not speak for all my colleagues, but for me personally, I have a burning desire to find my piece of happiness & to help you find yours. True health is about so much more than food & exercise. I promised myself a long time ago, that I would never settle for second best, even if this means doing things from time to time that seem crazy to others. I make this promise to my future clients also, because I know that together, we can figure anything out.

Leave a Reply

