When is a Biscuit not a Biscuit??

When my Little Love was born, I promised that I would do my utmost to protect her precious little taste buds from all the “edible” rubbish out there.

I was doing really well until she started attending a pre-school that provided meals. Up until this point I had full control over everything that passed her sweet little lips, and I was definitely uneasy with this new situation. Alas my fears were justified, and it quickly became evident that the dietary requests I made on my daughters behalf were largely ignored! Even though we left that particular establishment, a tiny seed of rebellion had been planted in my Little Love’s mind. It was soon after that, that the tantrums over sweets at theΒ checkout started, andΒ she began refusing all sorts of food at home.

To say I was exasperated was an understatement. After all, I had a background in nutrition!I was the teenage waitress that looked on in horror as toddlers were passed sippy cups filled with fizzy drinks! How could it be that my own child’s diet was anything less than perfect?

And there it was….my “ah ha” moment. The perfect diet doesn’t exist! Not for me, and not for my daughter. An adult can make educated decisions regarding food, but the same can not be said for a child. As a parent, it is my job to gently guide and support my Little Love as she figures it out. It is not my job to come over all “Dickensian” and control absolutely every morsel she eats! We work together. She is involved in all the food making decisions, from what she wants for breakfast to what we’ll cook for dinner. Over all we do quite well, but I do still need to take the reins when it comes to sugar. We have a strict no treats rule monday to friday, and yes, some days she does feel like the most hard done by Kid in the world! For the really bad days, I have a few recipes up my sleeve, one of which you’ll find here.

If it’s shaped like a biscuit and looks like a biscuit, it must be a biscuit right?

These are free from gluten, dairy & most importantly refined sugar. They take less than 5 minutes to put together, and are a big hit with my Little Love.

Give them a try and see what you think!

banana&oatbiscuitsjpg.jpeg

INGREDIENTS

1 cup of gluten-free oats

4 dates

1 banana

1 tbs desiccated coconut

1 tbs chia seeds

Handful of cacao nibs

METHOD

1. Blitz the oats, banana and dates

2. Stir in the rest of the ingredients

3. Roll into balls & flatten (this makes approx 8 depending on what size you make them)

4. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes & leave to cool on a baking tray

5. Enjoy!!

Oat & Banana Biscuits

Oat & Banana Biscuits

Leave a Reply

