Rose “Ferrero Rocher” Hearts……(for My Mom, With Love)

Rose Ferrero Rocher

Rose Ferrero Rocher

While I’m not a great believer in Hallmark holidays, I do tolerate Mothers day.

After all, I am One and I have One! But aren’t there better ways to spend a sunday morning than crumb-chasing following the obligatory breakfast in bed? Do any of us really need another “I love you Mum” mug? A “Best Mum” necklace? (Any takers? Anyone? No I didn’t think so!) Don’t get me wrong, we appreciate the gesture, but in my opinion that’s not what it’s all about. Mothers Day is a great opportunity to acknowledge that your Mom is also an actual person, with actual stuff going on in her own life. (Shock shock horror I know right?) It’s no secret that Mothers have a tendency to put everyone’s needs ahead of their own, so it feels pretty darn good when a loved one recognises this.

This got me thinking about what I could do for my mother…..

As a result of some health issues, she has been on an elimination diet. As anyone who has ever done one will tell you, it is hardcore and very difficult to stick to. She has done really, really well and we are all extrememly proud of her.Β While not as restrictive as the initial period, her food choices are still very limited now. Β What better way to express my gratitude than to make a tasty little treat just for her!

And that my friends is how these Rose “Ferrero Rocher” Hearts came about!

We hope you enjoy them as much as we do. Happy Mothering Sunday to all you ladies out there….you rock!

Love you lots Mom. Xx
INGREDIENTS:

2 tbs melted coconut oil

1/8 cup of cacao powder

1 tbs of date paste

1 tbs of hazlenut butter

A small handful of roughly chopped hazlenuts

A dusting of rose petals

METHOD:

1. Whisk the cacao powder into the melted coconut oil & add the date paste

2. Half fill the heart moulds and put in the fridge to set

3. Place a dollop of hazlenut butter in the centre & a sprinkling of rose petals

4. Top with the remaining chocolate mix, nuts & rose petals before returning to the fridge to set.

5. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

